>Ex-Patriots cheerleader arrested in drug case is fitness model.

Posted: 2011 in anabolic steroids, andropause, bodybuilding blog, doping, hgh, human growth hormone, manopause, somatopause, steroid addiction, steroids blog

>A former New England Patriots cheerleader arrested for steroid possession during a major drug bust in Braintree is also an award-winning fitness model.

Samantha Baker, 33, of Weymouth took top honors in the National Physique Committee’s New England Bodybuilding Fitness and Figure competition in 2009, according to the website bodybuilding.com.

On her website, Baker, a 1995 Weymouth High School graduate, acknowledges the first-place victory and talks about other competitions and her desire to help others become physically fit.

“I know the feeling of accomplishment that I experience when I can transform my body while at the same time improving my overall health,” Baker wrote.

Five days after her Feb. 5 arrest, Baker posted a message to “fans, friends and family.”

“For those of you who have heard certain personal circumstances that I am going through, what I can say about it is this … I have never nor will I ever involve myself with any illegal activity. It is not who I am as a person, not what I believe in, and certainly not something I would involve the people I love with.

“All I can say is that I will be okay, more than okay, things will turn out as they should and I am very, very positive for the outcome that will be reached. I will rise from this stronger and better than ever.”

Baker, who has 1,845 followers on Twitter, could not be reached for comment regarding the drug charges she is facing.

Patriots’ spokesman Stacey James confirmed that Baker was one of the team’s cheerleaders in the 2002 season.

Baker tells visitors to her website that she was not a cheerleader in high school or college. She says her longtime involvement in dancing led to an interest in physical fitness and her decision to try out for the Patriots’ cheerleading squad.

Baker, Vincent Papagno, 41, of Quincy, who police said was her boyfriend, Quincy Firefighter Patrick J. Ryan and a Bellingham man were arrested at a home on East Division Street in Braintree following a three-month investigation.

Braintree and State Police reportedly seized 35 pounds of marijuana, steroids, hundreds of pills and more than $7,000 in cash.

Police say Baker had oxycodone pills when she drove up to the house just as police arrived with a search warrant.

Authorities allege that Baker was part of a major drug ring operating in the suburbs.

She has pleaded innocent in Quincy District Court to charges of conspiracy and possession of oxycodone and steroids.

Papagno, the major target of the investigation, allegedly traveled to Los Angeles to buy large amounts of marijuana before mailing it post offices and UPS stores for delivery to the Braintree house.

Leave a Reply

